Write about the following topic:

In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping.

Is this a positive or a negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

In the past few years, customers have started preferring to do shopping in malls than local shops. The result of this new trend has resulted in the shutting of most local shops. In my opinion, this is a negative development as it has resulted in a major setback to small scale industry.

Firstly, one of the major issues with the development of malls is that local trade is going out of business. In many instances, it has been found that domestic shops are mostly family businesses in which the whole family works. Closure of these shops results in the whole family out of means for supporting their livelihood. These people are not very qualified either to find jobs to sustain themselves.

Secondly, another reason supporting the view would be that the tourism of the place suffers. Maximum tourists love to do street shopping when visiting sites. These shops not only have very reasonable price but also some amazing craftsmanship. Also, the products in these local markets are not identical and often showcase the traditional side of the country. However, the products that are sold in the malls are mass-produced and repeatedly are found with quality issues. Malls very rarely sell non branded goods and are not very pocket friendly.

In the end, would like to state that local shops are the backbone of the economy of the country and closing them is a major blow to the economy. It is true that malls provide a lot of benefits that these shops cannot provide, however, there more negative impacts than positive.