Some people believe that children should listen to and obey their parents. Others believe that children should think and do things on their own. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

This essay is a discussion about different views on what is right for children. Children, no doubt require parental guidance. However, there are some people who believe that children should take decisions on their own. In my opinion, children need to take guidance from their parents. The essay elaborates the views of both the aspects

On one hand, it is certain for parents to steer their child till a suitable age, so that they can understand the difference between the right and the wrong. Usually, a toddler will always look up to his parents and wait for their approval before doing or trying anything new. For instance, a child would not know to write the alphabets naturally unless the parents step in and guide the child in proper way. For instance, a child should not interfere with someone else’s belongings unless they are asked to do so. That This is when parents should step in and guide the child about what is right and what is acceptable. correct the child’s fault. There are many such instances in a child’s life when parents play an important role in introducing the child to acceptable behavior and norms of the society. Such is an example compared to other instances in life wherein parental guidance is required.

On the other hand, modern parents are so much open minded that they let their children make decisions. This idea gives the child to take the initiative of making their own decisions, learning to grow, making and overcoming their mistakes. For example, when children are given a chance to make decisions on their own, their self-confidence boosts up. This can help them discover who they are, what do they enjoy, likes, dislikes and so on. Even if they make mistakes, it is their mistakes and not their parents’. Mistakes too teach us many things, but children should also learn to take responsibility for their actions. So, letting children take their own decisions and being responsible for them is also a good way of parenting. For example, if the parents are stereotypic, the child if left free to do his own will, shall have a wide view on stereotypes like the negativity of it and may become a more of an open minded person who doesn’t get affected by such social issues.

Therefore, keeping both the views in mind, in my opinion, children should not only be allowed to take decisions on their own but as well as at times be under with parental supervision. In this way, they can make decisions and also learn from them. This will help in making the child a better individual and a leader of the future.