You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic.

Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

In this new era, it is evident that the advertisements industry business has flourished like never before. Almost every newly launched product is promoted by the means of ads, however, some consider that it provokes unnecessary shopping whilst for others it is informative. I agree with the former notion to a greater extent.

The first and foremost reason for disagreement with the ad agency is that it advertises the product in a way that one can have a flip change in life after having the product; quite far from the reality. For instance, perfumes/deodorants are always advertised in adultery way and provoke youth for unnecessary purchase of same. As this is their growing stage it will divert their minds from the career goals and inculcate them towards the other path of expenditure.

Another reason for the dissenting is that the advertisements are designed no doubt on the real-life problems but their solutions through that product are not related to reality and shoppers/buyers feel betrayed after the purchase as they only rely on the review of the advertisement. It is better to exemplify with the ad campaign promoted by cosmetics which promises overnight beauties and many spend hard-earned money in this belief.

It is better to say some product launched advertisements are good too. As they clearly explain the product working so that after purchase one can easily access the product like in the case of machinery demo ads are always informative in nature and helps the beginners to get familiarity with the device.

To conclude, there is no shadow of a doubt that by making non-relateable ads, agencies are only taking care of their profits and insisting shoppers spend money unnecessary. However, some ad-companies do realize their duties so launch demo kind of ads for the customer.