You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.Write about the following topic:Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today’s society.To what extent do you agree with this view?Give reasons for your answer and include

Advertising is the backbone of any business and to promote it, businessmen indulge in all sorts of advertising. A range of advertising methods are used currently, which can, sometimes be unjustifiable and inappropriate. I believe that some means of advertising are not accepted by the society owing to various reasons.

The first and foremost factor can be the breach in security of the data available online. Many Companies indulge in online advertising for which they try every method to increase their reach within the people. They link themselves to various sites, which when opened automatically display their advertisements much to the harassment of the people who access these sites. For instance many finance companies insert their links to the bank sites. When people transact anything online using the online banking, these advertising appear in the pop-up windows distracting the clients and also might be a threat to the bank details of the people.

Another aspect involving the online marketing is spam mailing or messaging. It has become very popular these days as people obtain the data from various social sites and start promoting their products on the mail ids or the phone numbers available on the social sites, without the consent of the users. It is also very unethical. A recent example to this was the illegitimate use of data by social site giant "Facebook", which was recently questioned for the selling of the data to many companies, who later used it for promotional methods through spam mails.

Promoting a product online, is no doubt, a very good strategy in this technology driven society. Advertising had never been so easy earlier, which has become now in this tech-savvy world. People can just increase their horizons by just a click of a button. At the same time, the ever increasing demand of the online accessibility has proved a boon not only for the suppliers but for the consumers also.

To conclude, advertisement is the necessity of any organisation while promoting a product is the strategy of any business. Technology plays a vital role in promotion of any product or service; but ethically. Thus, despite being toll for expanding business, the misuse of these 21st century wonders cannot be negated.