Your character is strongly influenced by the place where you grew up. In what ways can growing up in a city or a countryside influence one's character? What is your view?

One's characteristics are affected and built through many factors, such as education, social status or an important factor, the living environment. Many personality surveys have pointed out that the place one grew up has a significant impact on his or her character,to give an illustration, one growing up in a city may be much different from one growing up in a countryside. More specifically, I will give three points in this essay to explain how growing up in urban areas or rural areas can influence one’s character.

To begin with, the differences in the pace of life between two types of areas can affect one’s personality in his or her future occupation. For example, children who are brought up in the city may be more confident, ambitious or have a better leadership than children who are in the countryside as they have to be through much pressure and have to adapt with the fast and busy pace of life from an early age. On the other hand, people who grow up in the countryside may be more sociable, cooperative or even more meticulous in work than people who grow up in the city as they usually live in a big family, have to communicate with many people like: the neighbors, the relatives, etc or have to help their parents with domestic chores, farming activities, etc since they were small.

In the second place, the living environment can influence one person’s behaviour with other people. Children growing up in the countryside are usually warm, caring and kind-hearted because they live in a place that is surrounded by many people, and in their living places, people often care about neighbors’ life and always be willing to help when someone meets the troubles. Otherwhile, children growing up in the city are often friendly and enthusiastic in relationships but not as caring and warm as ones in the countryside due to the fact that people in urban areas are busy with their own lives and don’t usually take notice of their neighbor’s lives.

Last but not least, the growing up place can have a certain impact on one’s living concept. A prime example is that who has grown up in a hustle and bustle city may want to experience or live in a peaceful neighborhood in later life, or one who has lived a slow and quiet life may want to discover and experience a more colorful and busy, marvelous life in a new city, or even start with a competitive occupation with passion and ambition.

Where you are dropped, as the saying goes, is who you are. Through possessing individuality, people often share some collective traits unique to the place where they live. However, people’s character can be attributed to many factors, the environment being only one of them. Our conscious efforts can make the biggest difference. As the saying goes, we are moulded by our own hands.