58 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Although science and technology will continue to improve the most significant improvement for the quality of people s lives have already taken place

Stating that the most significant improvement for the quality of people’s lives have already taken place, the speaker asserts that even though science and technology are improving in modern society, there will be no impressionable innovation which can play a vital role in strengthening our lives’ qualities. Of course, few would not disagree that our high level living standards are resulted from the innovative developments in science and technology in the past. From my view, however, the concept of the speaker is unconvincing for the following reasons.

To begin, while several developments in science has increased the level of our lives’ quality, in modern days, there are several unsolved problems in our lives, which could be fatal problems to us. When it comes to the innovative improvement in biological technology in our modern society, it is unable to deny that it has provided our lives with effective solutions to heal people who are exposed to lethal diseases. However, it is undeniable that researchers still have important tasks to find medicines to cure people who are exposed to unknown diseases or viruses. For example, in Korea in the last year, the people of Korean was suffered from the virus. Unfortunately they did not have any solution or vaccine to cure the people who were exposed the virus. Nevertheless, the researchers developed a solution in a short period of time because of their continuous efforts to study about a virus, thus the people could be free from the virus. This shows that even though people satisfy their lives’ quality, the importance of improvement of science and technology cannot be ignored.

Further, people tend to need more convenience lives that is resulted from the improvements in science and technology in the past. When it comes to modern people who live with high quality technologies such as effective transportation vehicles or the Internet that made them feel more convenience than in the past, they might still have several needs to upgrade to get more convenience lives. For instance, in the past, when the average of speed of the Internet in Korean was several bytes per a second, people did not satisfied the average of the speed but also demanded a faster service of the Internet. Also, regard to modern society that offers the Internet service with surprisingly a fastest speed, people still need a faster speed in the Internet service. This implies that even people admit that their lives are high quality lives because of the developed technology and science in the past, they still have requirements for the newly progressed technologies.

To sum, despite of the fact that the significant improvements of science and technology have made more convenience lives, both the fact that people have to prepare about the unknown virus or disease in the future and continuous requests for science and technology of people tell us that the living standards will grow up in the future.