63. Universities should spend more money on improving facilities (eg. labs and general equipment) than on hiring famous professors.

Nowadays, universities attach greater importance to adopting measures in order to provide students with higher quality of education. Some people claims that it is imperative to invest money in updating the facilities in school to assist students in studying. In my opinion, it is more worthwhile to spend money in hiring more famous professors.

Famous professors make it easier for students to gain solid knowledge and skill. For one thing, the famous professors usually have many years of teaching experience who know how to teach students in a systematic way, like they know where are the key points and difficult points. It is much easier for students to understand and absorb if the professors slow down or emphasize at the these points. For another, these famous professors are likely to have a lot of practical skills gained from their working experience. Learning the practical skills lay a solid foundation for students’ future career. Thus, hiring more experienced professor is beneficial for students’ study.

Famous professors can bring benefits to the reputation of the university. Clearly, famous professors are the person who have international prestige and influence in their own field. They can bring international reputation to the university who hire them. With this reputation, more students will come for its fame, bringing more funding. This money can be invested in improving students’ life and hiring more famous professors. Besides, the fame brought by the famous professors also makes it easier for the students who have graduated to hunt for good jobs. Consequently, the universities will have a good fame in alumni as well. Thus, all of these can contribute to the development of the university.

Admittedly, fancy facilities are also conducive to students’ study. However, students still need help from the experts who will teach them how to operate the facilities, like new software or technology.

Consequently, I draw the conclusion that hiring famous professors is more important due to the benefits they bring to the students and the universities.