72) Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Grades (marks) encourage students to learn. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion

Schools and universities use methods to evaluate their students’ performance such as a grading system. But do you think that grading the exam is important to encourage students to learn? Although many students believe that grading is an essential tool for learning, others disagree. From my perspective, I don’t agree that grades will encourage students to learn

First, the Grading system is not an effective method to encourage students learning. Many students dread the exams, they put time and effort to study better; however, some students are low-income that could not afford to hire a tutor in order to improve their scores. For example, I have watched a documentary called “ Waiting for Superman”. In the video, I have seen the majority of students live in small houses and they were unable to pay attention to Math and reading lessons. Moreover, Their parents work 12 hours to survive, so they don’t have time to educate their kids. As a result, the students received a low grade that affected them tremendously; they got depressed and hated their school. This documentary revealed that grades are not the only way to encourage students to study.

In addition, grades are stressful for the majority of students in, particularly students who want to get a scholarship. My brother Joni is a diligent student, he devotes his time and efforts to get a high GPA. Last month, he suffered from Pneumonia, and he stayed in the hospital for two weeks. Because of the illness, he did not study biology final exam. He got low grades that affected his GPA. Consequently, he was qualified to apply for the scholarship. This experience thought my brother those grades insufficient to make students learn.

In conclusion, I believe that grades are not encouraging students to learn. Not only grades have a negative impact on the poor students, but also the grading system is not considering the students’ health.