79 Is the ability to write and read more important today than in the past Why or why not Use specific reasons to support your answer

Some people believe that the ability to read and write is the most important one among other human abilities. However, in my opinion, I think the ability is not that important because of technology progression and a negative likelyhood which can occur to well-educated people.

To begin with, the development of technology decreases the gap between the people who cannot read and write and others who can. As artificial Intelligence and virtual reality technologies are widely used by many people, the importance of knowing how to read and write has been decreasing. For example, my grandmother does not know the Korean language due to the Korean war. As her childhood years are ruined by the war, she could not get a chance to be educated. As time goes by, she had to work at a factory and support their families. After he retirement, I tried to teach her how to read and write the Korean language but failed. However, after the dominance of smartphones, there was no reason to teach her because she can deal with read and write process with her smartphone. By intalling a application, she now can listen every letters that she wants to know and write whatever she want by converting her voice into letters. This progression are likely to reduce the importance of the ability to read and write.

On top of that, other abilities become more important to modern people. The value of knowing how to read and write is decreased compared to the past. Since over 95% of Korean are possible to read and write the Korean language without burden, the ability is now considered as fundamental for most people. Unlike the past, knowing how to read and write do not assure the professional success anymore. In contrast, today, other abilities are valued more than a lingustic ability. To be specific, knowing how to cope with the stress is valued higher tha before. According to a study which is conducted by Seoul National University, the more educated people are more likely to suicide than others who had only high school educations. This study shows that even if some people can fluently use more than two or three languages, it useless if he or she cannot control the stress from the work and other people.

To sum up, the ability to read and write is not valued as high as is was in the past because of technology that helps people to read and write and other abilities which affect peoples’ life more than the ability. In this regard, I strongly insist that knowing how to read and write is not that important.