A/D: The most effective way for government to encourage conservation is to increase the price of gasoline and electricity.

Nowadays, there are more and more pollutions around us. So the government are trying to reduce all kinds of polutions and encourage conservation. However, the most effective way for government to encourage conservation may not be increasing the price of gasoline and electricity.

It is true that increasing the price of gasoline and electricity would avoid people purchasing more gasoline and electricity. Then people may ride bikes or walk to commute instead of driving cars or taking buses, which would release considerable pollutants endangering our air. And people may not use too much electricity because of the costly expenditure. However, it is not the most effective way to encourage conservation. What if there are rich men who do not care about the expenses of the gasoline and electricity? Is this method really helpful? Probabily not. They may not be worried about the significant costs of the gasoline and electricity and they still driving cars everyday and utilize a large amount of electricity. Meanwhile, this tactic is harmful for some industries and official buildings. Because after increasing the price of the gasoline and electricity, these industries and buildings still need to use a myriad of electricity and gasoline to produce more necessities for people such as gasoline refinement industries and heating departments. Hence, the increment of the price of gasoline and electricity is another gigantic expenses for them, which is unfair. Consequently, this method would not be the most effective way to encourage conservation.

Moreover, there are still many means to encourage conservation which would be more viable. It is widely acknowledged that the most important problem currently is globle warming and releasing carbon dioxide is the most crucial reason. So planting numerous of trees to absorb considerable carbon dioxide is another method to protect our environment. Plus, noise pollution is also a large problem. There are many types of noise around us in our lives. When we are studying, noise from another constructing building is transferred into your room. When you are sleeping, your neighbors are singing songs continuously. Therefore, using more resistant-noise walls to construct buildings is also another way to reduce pollutions in our lives. Furthermore, light pollution is becoming more severe in cities. Significant lights are shining from the downtown of the city and engender people cannot go to sleep and provide a lot of heat to hazard the environment. Thus, reduce the intensity of lights is another strategy to encourage conservation.

In sum, there are other methods which could also encourage conservation and increasing the price of gasoline and electricity is not the most effective way because it would provide more problems.