AD: TV and movies have more negative impacts

Speaking of the effects that movies and television have on youngsters, the answers can vary differently from individual to individual. Some suggest that they affect young people in positive ways like valuable educational tools, while others believe that they pose negative impacts on people. In my opinion, the risks of television and movies outweigh their benefits.

To begin with, I believe that television makes young people less active. mentally as well as physically. Watching television hardly requires effort and energy for people. We just need to move our fingers on the controllers to change the channels. Furthermore, all the time we spend sitting in front of the television is time we aren't spending moving around or doing exercise. It's time we aren't spending reading books, or interacting with our friends. It's time we aren't exercising our bodies and minds in meaningful ways.

Second, another effect of movies and television is that it makes people less sensitive to violence. There often is some violence and murders in tv series and movies. Nevertheless, despite the fact that all of them are unreal and several dead characters will probably end up relived, people might gradually take them for granted and become less sensitive to them in reality due to the increasing amount of them. For example, youngsters' minds aren't generally mature enough to process such information and eventually misunderstand it. This might damage their self-development and cause them to have bad behavior when they grow up. Therefore, I strongly agree that movies and television have more negative impacts.

Last but not least, both of them can stifle the imagination. Since all of the stories in movies and dramas are written in advance and told for us, people don't need to imagine how the plots might go on, or how the characters or places will look like. Well goes a saying, "imagination is your superpower." In my opinion, imagination is fundamental for young people's development. For example, without imagination, they probably will have difficulty bringing out several creative ideas or proposals in their jobs. Furthermore, my personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was young, instead of thinking of something different to do, I usually just sit down and let the television do the entertainment for me in my leisure time since I can turn on the television easily. Therefore, when I grew up, I still couldn't find any activities that I'm interested in and could only continue to spend time watching television, which is often viewed as meaningless activity. Thus, I strongly believe that movies and television will harm young people's behavior.

To sum up, television and movies are a significant influence in modern life, and they can be valuable in some ways. Nonetheless, from what I've mentioned above, both of them have strong negative impacts on youngsters' behavior, encouraging young people to misunderstand violence and to be inactive and unimaginative.