A/D: “Working at home using computers or telephones is better than working in the office.”

It goes without saying that in such a sophisticated world where the realms of knowledge are expanding dramatically, the modern technology endowing communication facilities has provided another possibility for people to work more easily. Some people are inclined toward the attitude that it is of great benefit to work at home using these facilities whereas others hold exactly the opposite perspective. As far as I am concerned, working in office is much more suitable for individuals. In the following paragraphs, I will pinpoint the most outstanding reasons.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that working at home is likely to cause some physical problems for the workers. Since working through the internet or using telephone is somehow categorized in sedentary activities and workers spend long periods of time sitting on a chair without any significant movement, their body will soon become tired. If this happens to them regularly, it would harm their health. A very tangible example of these kind of problems is spinal distortion caused by lack of significant movements of one's backbone.

Another reason which deserves some words here is that it is established beyond doubt that staying home for most of the time will cause some mental problems as well. Since people working at home do not experience social interactions much in comparison with the ones working in their office, it would influence their social behavior negatively. They might be depressed and become more introverted as they spend most of their time in their house. Although they can establish some relations through the internet using some social networks such as Facebook, it would not have a dominant effect generally.

To put it briefly, if one weighs the merits and demerits of the aforementioned statement, one soon realizes that working in an office is the best way of working. It is highly recommended that companies should institute a system that checks the times of ingress and egress of the staff to make sure that they are present in their office during work hours. But that was the story in a nutshell. In fact, there are a myriad of other reasons, challenging the above statement, which could be mentioned but are not embraced due to the dearth of time.