Agnostids were a group of marine animals that became extinct about 450 million years ago. Agnostid fossils can be found in rocks in many areas around the world. From the fossil remains, we know that agnostids were primitive arthropods—relatives of modern-day insects. However, the fossil information does not allow paleontologists to determine with certainty what agnostids ate or how they behaved. There are several different theories about how agnostids may have lived.

Free-Swimming Predators

First, the agnostids may have been free-swimming predators that hunted smaller animals. It is known that other types of primitive arthropods were strong swimmers and active predators, so it is reasonable that the agnostids may have lived that way as well. And while the agnostids were small, sometimes just six millimeters long, there were plenty of smaller organisms in the ancient ocean for them to prey on.

Seafloor Dwellers

Second, they may have dwelled on the seafloor. Again, there are examples of other types of primitive arthropods living this way, so it is possible that agnostids did too. On the seafloor they would have survived by scavenging dead organisms or by grazing on bacteria.

Parasites

Third, there is the possibility that the agnostids were parasites, living on and feeding off larger organisms. One reason that this seems possible is that there are many species of modern-day arthropods that exist as parasites, such as fleas, ticks, and mites. The agnostids might have lived on primitive fish or even on other, larger arthropods.

The article and lecture both deal with how agnostids my have lived. Whilst the author proposes three possible hypotheses and provides evidence to support them, the lecturer contradicts his arguments respectively.

First, the author states that agnostids may have lived as strong swimmers and active predators, and there are plenty of smaller organisms in the ancient ocean for them to hunt. In contrast, the professor argues that predators usually have large eyes and well developed vision, while agnostids have tiny eyes and poor visions, and some even are blind. Furthermore, she also rule out the possibility that agnostids may use other sensory organs instead of eyes, as there is no evidence has been obtained so far.

Second, according to the article, agnostids might live on the seafloor, and feed on dead organisms or bacteria. However, the lecturer again questions this argument by pointing out that agnostids live in multiple geological areas, indicating that they may move very fast. This is on contrary to seafloor dwellers, which usually move very slow and live in very small geological area.

Last, the author posits that agnostids could be parasites and lived on fish or other larger organisms because many types of arthropods live this way. As opposed to the writer, the speaker mentions that the population of parasites is often very small, so they would not kill the hosts. Unlike parasites, agnostids lived in large group.

As we can see, the author and lecturer hold very different views on possible ways that agnostids may have lived.