agree or disagree Large cities should ban cars from the city center

Over the last five decades, cars have come to dominate the urban landscape. Many major metropolitan areas such as Seoul, New Delhi and Tokyo have been built around automobiles, with huge amounts of space set aside for roads and parking. This dramatic rise has led to the suggestion that private vehicles should be prohibited from entering large urban areas. Although this car-free idea sounds desirable, it is in fact an ineffective strategy that takes a heavy toll on society and economy.

Admittedly, an initiative to create a car-free city would bring considerable benefits. The immediate one is the reduction of air pollution and the enhancement of public health, and Oslo is a good example. Data from the local government reveals a marked drop in the amount of carbon dioxide emissions after diesel and gas-powered vehicles are denied access to city centers. As air quality improves, the number of people who have respiratory diseases is also decreasing. In addition, improving the safety among residents and visitors is another advantage of implementing the pedestrian-friendly policy. There has been some evidence that the reduction of road casualties in Oslo is the result of banning private cars from central streets. Even better, people are able to meander around without dodging in and out of traffic while tourists can stand in the middle of the street nonchalantly taking selfies or photos. Nevertheless, the above examples do not necessarily imply that the move towards a vehicle-free city is utterly feasible.

In fact, inhibiting cars from the central business districts increases the burden on public infrastructure though it counteracts the detrimental effects of pollutants. This is due to a sudden increase in new commuters who once depended on using their own cars. Existing public transport and facilities will be overwhelmed if the government cannot provide tens of thousands of commuters with an alternative method of transport to enter the city. For example, simply adding extra train services will not work if the train stations cannot cope with these new commuters, especially when most of them need to enter and exit the city during peak hour. Therefore, simply banning cars without additional investment in other services is a recipe for disaster.

Although the campaign for a car-free city gives the street back to people, we cannot be oblivious of the fact that there will be devastating economic consequences as many businesses in city centers rely on private vehicles to deliver supplies on a daily basis. For instance, restaurants require daily food deliveries in the same way as florists need their flowers in early each morning. Without access to the central areas, these businesses will soon close, which in turn leads to the rise of unemployment. While a ban on private cars is conducive to the improvement of traffic flow, it will also cause a cratering economy and social problems.

In conclusion, increasing ownership of private cars has resulted in a number of significant urban issues. It has been suggested that these vehicles should be removed from city zones. However, banning private vehicles is not a viable option as public transport services would not be able to cope with the higher demand and many companies might face unprecedented challenges of running their businesses.