agree or disagree Understanding concepts and ideas is more important than learning facts forstudents

it is important that students understand the concepts and ideas behind phenomenons or whatever they are being taught the just clinging to facts only. thee are different reasons and advantages why students must be grounded in the concepts and ideas of how different things work. these reasons are clearly stated below.

Understanding concepts and ideas are the most paramount of the two because that is the sole reason for being educated because it aids learning and remembrance of what was being taught and this would also help the students to put it in different contexts varying from the media by which they were being communicated. this leads to the second reason which is application.

Students can only apply what has been taught when they properly understand the concepts or ideas in class, for example, it is a fact that two multiplied by two is four but if you don't know the concept behind it you can give the answer to two hundred multiplied by two hundred. in other words, Understanding concepts gives you the ability to apply such concepts in different scenarios of the same topic.

Lastly, there is no point knowing something if you can't teach others, there is a saying that whatever you can teach is what you know and what you can't teach, you don't know. When students understand concepts ad ideas of how some things came to be, they can spread the information with ease without having to cram facts and educate others.. this is what education is, whereby you are being taught and you can teach others. Without Isaac newton, there can't be Henry Ford, It is because they can pass knowledge of understood concepts and apply them to transform their world.

It is important that students get facts of information but more expedient to understand concepts and ideas behind those facts.