Ambitious dreams are better than realistic goals. Agree or disagree?

Everyone has dreams and goals, whether to be a billionaire or simply to get good scores in an exam. Dreams and goals have significant implications on our lives since they motivate us to strive for improvement and success. A substantial number of people have the idea that ambitious dreams are more important than realistic goals and I completely agree with this opinion for several reasons.

To begin with, having ambitious dreams brings about the development of our society. Dreams do not cost anything; everyone has the right to believe in their ability. When you dream big, you can come up with brilliant, sometimes weird, ideas that no one has ever think of. It is these ideas that lead to breakthroughs in any field. Bill Gates is a compelling example of this. At first, he studied law at university, but he dedicated most of his time to computers, in which he had always showed a passionate interest. Two years later, he dropped out of college to pursue his dreams and start his own computer software business Microsoft shortly after. Today, Microsoft is the most popular company, producing computer programs such as Microsoft Windows and Microsoft Word, which considerably boost the efficiency of work and study.

Another reason why I would choose ambitious dreams is that they encourage us to work harder and make our lives meaningful. That is, when you have a strong desire for something, especially the challenging one, you will put great effort into it to make an improvement. Also, with your dreams, you can realize the purpose to live your life. If someone does not have ambitious dreams, they will not make any progress and therefore live a monotonous life. Take me for example, everyday I wake up in the morning feeling highly enthusiastic about achieving my dreams and that keep energizing me to do better throughout the day.

To sum up, I strongly believe that people should pursue ambitious dreams even they are unrealistic. This is because big dreams bring out the best in everyone and consequently produce a revolution in our life; also, they are motivation for us to perform splendidly at school and work.