Ambitious dreams are better than realistic goals Agree or disagree

The dreams are meant to be achieved if you are willing to invest everything into it. People should always dream beyond their current abilities, and set realistic short term goals to achieve them. Personally, I believe that people should target ambitious dreams rather than just thinking about achievable goals. I believe this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

Firstly, if people had limited themselves within their current skill or ability, humanity would not have progressed this far. Nowadays, people are thinking about space wars, a thing which can only be considered as fiction in the last decade. For instance, Elon musk known as the father of artificial intelligence is known to be one such individual who has never restricted his abilities into one single domain. Initially, he started with creating PayPal, an online transaction platform that was sold for more than 50 million dollars. Later on, through his current holdings, he dreamt of starting regular space flights, that will help common people to experience outer space. It failed miserably during the first three trial launches, but going forward he was able to successfully complete the trail with the fourth launch. He was also earlier criticized by NASA that something like is not possible in near future. If he had limited himself to just being a normal businessman, then a journey like this would not have been possible.

Secondly, by setting up ambitious goals, you are forcing yourself into trying new things. There might be a possibility that you are good at something, which you had earlier thought was never possible. My own experience is compelling evidence for this. I started my journey as an engineer and went on to work for multiple MNCs during my early 20s. I was also involved in the field of music production. I started this as a side hustle, and going forward wanted to do this full time. I was turned down by multiple label companies saying that your background doesn't match our requirements. Initially, I thought of giving up, but being determined enough, I was able to score multiple platinum records and was later signed by Sony Music. This experience taught me that we should not limit ourselves to something that is well within our reach but should expand our horizon.

In conclusion, setting up goals that are beyond your current ability, forces us to try new things and seek different perspective towards life.