The perceived greatness of any political leader has more to do with the challenges faced by that leader than with any of his or her inherent skills and abilities

The perceived greatness or weakness is determined greatly by the intensity of challenges faced by an individual in his political career. These challenges give public the view about the extremities of leader’s ineptitude. I completely agree with statement that to perceive greatness of any political leaders has more to do with the challenges faced by that leader than with any of his or her inherent skills and abilities and support my position for the following reasons.

Challenges are the rhetorical issues that are met by a political leaders in his career lifetime or the period served for the same. The way a leader tackles the issue can serve a great purpose in giving public the extremities that leader could go or how well is the leader performing in such difficult situations. Is he thinking, outside the box or just using conventional methods to provide solutions for these issues. In a day-to-day life of many political leaders, they have to face many such instances where these inherent skills or abilities, he/she had developed won’t produce desired solutions and would require expanding his thinking capabilities over the edge to find the most effective strategies that could produce required effect. For, example in the wake of a natural disaster when a huge amount of resources and many lives are at risk and therefore requires a quick response at the earliest, the decisions taken by the leader over minimising such losses would be a perfect example of depicting how well the leader is able to tackle a unforthcoming task at his hand.

Secondly, the inherent skills and capabilities that a leader has developed over his lifetime may or may not be required in many such cases and these challenges would require a mix set of many such abilities combined along with decision making abilities that could have been only measured if the certain task requires a leader to go beyond his limits or leave out of the comfort zone that he bears while holding the office.

Although, there are certain cases when only these skills would be required for a particular such as if a leader had earlier been skilled in relationship building and through these abilities he has been ask to drive an economic growth, which requires talking to the leaders of other such countries which could provide economic stability or jobs in case. But any of such case would also require numerous challenges that he/she does not posses and could have only been acquired through battling over similar challenges in the past and learning from its weaknesses.

In summary, the political greatness of a leader certainly depends on his inherent skills and abilities to make impactful decisions, but any of such task would also require making decisions that may not be present within the gamut of skills and posses and thus would depend on his experience from the past after facing wide varieties of challenges and learning from its drawbacks.