"The rating system for electronic games is similar to the movie rating system in that it provides consumers with a quick reference so that they can determine if the subject matter and contents are appropriate. This electronic game rating system is not working because it is self regulated and the fines for violating the rating system are nominal. As a result an independent body should oversee the game industry and companies that knowingly violate the rating system should be prohibited from releasing a game for two years."

The argument claims that the electronic game rating system, although similar to the movie rating system is not working because it is self-regulated and the fines for violating the system are nominal. Hence, the independent body should oversee it. Stated in this way the argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it can be evaluated. The conclusion relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. Therefore, the argument is rather weak, unconvincing and several other flaws.

First, the argument readily assumes that because electronic game rating system is self-regulated, it is not working well. This statement is stretch and not substantiated in any way. There are numerous systems that rely on self-regulated systems and working pretty well. For Instance, Formula One Racing (F1) organisation depends on self regulated system for evaluation at different stages and most importantly, it is one of the most watched sport on the planet drawing over billion users per year. It is collecting a lot of capital through numerous sponsors around the year. Another example is the paralleled movie rating system that is also mentioned in the argument. The author fails to prove that does the movie rating system is working well or not? But, it is pretty well depicted that the movie rating system is widely accepted and people around the world are using it to pre evaluate the movies on the basis of different contributing factors such as the quality, length or on a scale of a number is it worth to spend money on. The movie rating system is also self-regulated and is woking quite well and to the negative side, it cannot contribute to the factors of a failing electronic game rating system. The argument would have been much clearer if it explicitly states that what factors are contributing to its failure such as customer dissatisfaction, negative feedbacks and many more.

Second, the argument claims that any violation fees or bad electronic game are nominal. It thus suggests that this is one more factor as why the rating system is not working. This is again a very weak and unsupported claim as the argument does not demonstrate any correlation between the monetary amount of fees and the quality of rating system. In fact, the author doesn’t even provide any evidence for the paralleled system correlation with he monetary fine system had worked well for it, then the author would have sounded a bit more convincing. If the argument had provided evidence relating that the nominal fee amount lead to electronic game manufactures to ignore any regulation, it could have been strengthen further.

Finally, the argument claims that the independent body should oversee the game rating system and punish the companies that violates the rating system. From this statement again, it is not all clear that a regulated system is better than the self-regulated system in doing the assigned job. Without supporting evidences and examples from other companies where independent regulatory body has done a more satisfactory job, one is left with the impression that claim is more of a wishful thinking rather than substantiated evidence.

In summary, the argument is flawed are therefore unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts or had provided any statistical data to support its claim. In order to asses the merits of a certain situation. It is essential to have a full knowledge about other contributing factors.