Are government doing good in educating people to pay attention to the importance of the food nutrition and healthy eating

On top of the basic need of eating have been satisfied, food nutrition and healthy diets are becoming hotly eye-catching topics of societal. Many governments also realize the importance and urgency of food education. In my country, governments are doing well in educating people to pay attention to food nutrition and healthy eating habits through publicizing, related policies, as well as providing additional education services in primary school.

The first thing the government is doing good is publicizing the idea of health. To be concise, people nowadays can see many charitable commercials sponsored by the governments in educating the balance of food nutrition and the importance of exercising while they are shopping, taking the subway, and eating at restaurants. These well-designed posters with creative and humorous ideas largely attract the customers’ eyes and plant the notion of healthy eating in people’s minds subconsciously. Not only the governments are publicizing the idea in a physical way, but also digitally. When people are watching some entertainment programs on television, such as variety shows, charitable commercials will show up again and again to remind people of the danger of eating high-fat and high-sugar food. Therefore, governments are doing good in promoting healthy diets throughout the medium.

In addition to highlighting the importance of healthy eating in different forms of media, the governments also release many positive and effective policies for farmers who conduct organic farming, encouraging more farmers can participate in these eco-friendly practices, such as bio-agriculture or permaculture. The policies include reducing their income tax, assisting the farmers to have a good share in the supply chain of the supermarkets, as well as facilitating the local organic food organizations. In this way, farmers who conduct organic farming will have more motivation to keep their business in a sustainable way financially and ecologically, which enlarges the chance of customers buying their food that contains high nutrition without using artificial fertilizers.

Lastly, the government also supports primary schools establishing their own school gardens and mini farmlands, opening related courses for primary students. In China, there are many schools that adopt these education modes, especially in rural areas, and are constantly practicing how to convey the idea of healthy diets to students.

To sum up, the governments are doing good in expanding the knowledge of food nutrition through different mediums, policies for farmers, and education in schools.