Are parents the best teachers? Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents are the best teachers. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Although scientists have been putting a lot of efforts into understanding the formation of human relationships, there are still debates brewing on whether parents are our best teachers. It is undeniable that parents play a role in cultivating the development of children. In my point of view, parents are indeed the best teachers in many aspects of life.

It is no doubt that parents are a child’s first teacher, and usually children are more affected by what their parents do. Born without knowledge and social skill, children are eagerly looking for someone to imitate. By observing parents behaviors, children gradually build up emotional well-beings such as: empathy, forgiveness and humility, which can hardly be learned without parents support. For example, parents assist their children with love and giving, which help them acquire empathy and respond to people’s need and suffering. Since the world is becoming more and more competitive, the value of empathy is sometimes eliminated through the competition between peers. As a result, parents do play an important role in being our best teacher in cultivating emotional core values.

In addition to the process of emotional development and growth, parents are role models for children as well. Recent surveys suggest that one of the most effective role models lie in overcoming difficulties in life, which can be introduced by parents. There are challenging obstacles for people to face in their daily lives such as: getting to and from school or work, having enough money for bills, and health related issues. However, the actions of parents, which demonstrate perseverance and can help young individuals overcome these difficulties. For instance, when children are struggling to learn math, the role of the parents may reminds them of the vale of not giving up, which will lead to success in academic performance.

Young individuals learn strong communication skills from their parents, which aid them in all aspects of life. People improve communication skills by interacting with their parents to gain effective social skills. In fact, communication is one of the most difficult areas in a relationship to navigate, and parents can help us enhance such abilities. Communication skills learned from parents are generally can’t be acquired from outside world, because there is no such detail training programs that cover all aspects such as: respecting other viewpoints, trust, confidence, and clarity of the message. This interesting fact again illustrates the role of parents as best teachers.

Due to the fact that some of the skills and abilities we learned from our parent can’t be easily gained at schools or at work, parents are proven to be the best teacher. They assist us not only in having personal achievements but also psychological success.