Are robots more intelligent than humans? Give reasons and examples to support your opinion​.

Many people fear that as our technology advances, robots will one day take over the world. If I were forced to choose, I would definitely say that robots are not more intelligent than humans. It is my firm belief that robots are not smarter than humans for a number of reasons, and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, people have instincts and intuitions that cannot be programmed into robots. Ultimately, robots are machines created by humans. As sophisticated as they may be, they will always lack human element. One obvious example of this is with piloting aircrafts. Robots have been developed with flying capabilities so that a pilot is not needed in the airplane. However, human pilots are still used over robots because the studies have shown that pilots have flight instincts that cannot be reproduced in robots. You see, when a plane is quickly losing altitude, a robot must rely on the measurements inside the plane, while a human pilot can also analyze weather conditions, discuss the situation with a co-pilot, and use his previous experience to make a decision. For this reason, because robots lack the ability to use their sixth sense to make informed decisions, they will never be more intelligent than humans.

Secondly, robots lack emotional intelligence. Some underestimate the importance of human intelligence we get from our emotions. In this ever- interconnected world we live in, it is extremely important to have the ability to read other’s emotions easily and control your own emotions as well. For example, a person with good emotional intelligence would be more successful negotiating a business transaction. My friend john, for example, is the top salesman at the pharmaceutical company he works at. He credits his success to his ability to read other party’s feelings about the deal while not revealing too much of his own feelings in order to get their way. It is unimaginable that robots could exercise the same level of emotional intelligence that my friend john would in this situation. Therefore, because robots could not use emotional intelligence, they are not smarter than humans.

In light of the above mentioned reasons, I strongly believe that robots are not smarter than humans because they lack instincts and intuitions and also emotional intelligence.