Do you agree or disagree with the following statement " traditions should be followed be followed by people"

No one can deny that there are both positive and negative aspects of traditions on society. If I were forced to choose, I would definitely say that traditions represent a critical piece of our culture. It is my firm belief that they help form the structure and foundation of our families and our society for a number of reasons, and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, tradition contributes a sense of comfort and belonging. It brings families together and enables people to reconnect with friends. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my own experience. When I think about this time of the year, the word tradition comes to mind along with thoughts of my maternal grandmother. My grandmother, like many grandmothers, was a strong supporter of family. She undoubtedly was the glue that held our family together. There were no quarrels or thoughts of indecision about where the holidays would be spent ¬ grandmother's house was the place to be for warm words of encouragement, lots of hugs and wonderful home-cooked meals. We were one big happy family that traveled over the highways and the byways to a familiar place called home. Although we now gather at different places with some old and some new faces, it is the tradition of "gathering" that she instilled in us.

For this reason, traditions strengthen the importance of family, reinforce important values, and bring everyone so much comfort and joy.

Secondly, traditions serve as a signpost for the whole world as holidays are an important fabric of life. Drawing from my own experience as a child, I always looked forward to Thanksgiving. On Thanksgiving morning, Mom made delicious Parker house rolls and placed a small slip of paper with fortune in the middle of each one. At Thanksgiving dinner, family members read their fortune out loud when they opened their roll. I follow the same tradition and now our meals are filled with promises of God's goodness until the last roll disappears from the basket. It's certainly clear to see why we should always be thankful of holidays like Thanksgiving for it gives us time to stop and reflect.

In light to the above mentioned reasons, I strongly believe that traditions brings families and friends together.