Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can deny that there are both positive and negative aspects to funding the government money in arts and olympics. If I were forced to choose, I would definitely say that the government should expend money in olympics. It is my firm belief for two reasons, and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, a country name, fame and glory will enrich and widespread all over the world by winning a medal in olympics. The number of medals won indirectly represent the success and ability of the country. For example, Jamaica, an obscure country which is a very late independent country made its mark in the world sports as having fastest men and women on Earth. Moreover, their culture and passion for athletics, society and the government support for the sprinters spurred their graph in medal tally from three medals in 1948 England olympics to eleven medals in 2016 Rio olympics. As a result, medal winning to a country is not only a personal achievement but also a country triumph by taking part in global competitions. Therefore, the government should definitely fund more money into olympics to promote a nation's glory.

Secondly, success breeds success. Countries that win a lot of medals inspire younger athletes to take up sports, who grow up to be the next generation of medal winners. Drawing from my own experience, when my friend was in school, he admired Tyson Gay who is a fastest runner and always wanted to become like him. He can run 100 meters in around 20-25 seconds. In addition, with his talent and support from the school, he played at state level. He was selected for national level, but due to less support from the government, he could not reach his goal. Therefore, If the government had invested more money in olympics, he would have brought medals to the country and promoted our nation's pride.

To sum up, I strongly believe that the government should invest more money in support of athletes. This is due to the fact that country fame will be promoted and recognized world-wide and it encourages many youngsters to become future athletics.