Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past. Do you agree or disagree?

There is no denying the fact that nowadays, the development of technology is so fast. Everyday, new devices are introduced to public. The result of this fast development is a rapid change of the world. Some people hold the idea that since the world is changing so quick, people are less satisfied with their lives compared to the past generations, while others assert that today the world is a more convenient place to live, therefore people are more happy. Although it is a highly controversial topic, for me the former opinion carries more weigh. I believe that the development of technology actually misguided us and brought us a non-emotional life.

The foremost reason why I am supporting this idea lies in the fact that one of the biggest change of today’s life is the Internet. People use it to communicate with each other, They chat, send massage and so on. Actually this new way of communication replaced the old fashion way. people used to go to their friends’ house to visit them and spend time with them. Those times were a good stress relief for them, since they laughed and eat together. More importantly, they made emotional connection by hugged each other, making eye contact and so on. Which one of those benefits could be gain in a chat or text massage? Researchers claim that nowadays, people have more tress because they do not have physical contact with their friends as they had is the past. That statement shows that even though the Internet, one of the creations of new life, has made communication more convenient, but it has destroyed the quality of communication, which affected people’s enjoyment of life.

Another subtle point that we should deem is the fact that this rapid world has forced people to work more. As a result, they have less free time compared to the past. Today, most parents work from early morning till afternoon. They put their kids on daycare or after-school programs. When the whole family gets back home, they have just 3 hours together before bedtime. During that time they should have dinner, take a shower, read a story and asleep. As you can see, most families do not have time to do a family activities, thus the bondage between family ‘s member has almost destroyed. This led families to a nonfunctional unite, because family supposed to be a place where people feel loved and emotional connected, somethings which we do not see in modern families.

Due to the aforementioned arguments explored in the previous statements, I believe that people are less satisfied with their lives today. Because they suffer from lack of emotional connection, which caused several psychological problems such as tress for them.