Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

It has long been a hot controversy among contemporary scientists that of the two options of teachers and friends which one has more effects on students. Answering to this question is imperative as it deals with psychology of the minds. When it comes to me, I think teachers have more effects on students. However, as the English proverb goes a coin has two sides, those who take the opposite view are partially reasonable.

The first plain reason for my propensity is that students know that teachers have more experience and knowledge. I will exemplify my point with a true story that happened to me. I remember when I wanted to select my major in the university, one of my teachers gave me an incredible advice. He briefly told me, I should follow my dream and select the major that I like, not the major my friends want me to choose. I am happy to listen to his advice not the advice of my friends because I knew that my teacher is a more reliable person due to his knowledge and experience.

The second reason that I should mention is that students see their teachers as a successful person in life. A prime example from my own experience may shed some light to this point, in high school, I was always looking at the habits of my teachers, as I was thinking they are very successful in their life.

The last and most important reason is that friends in high school and university do not trust each other in so many cases as a truth worthy source. According to a research which was conducted by one of the most reputable universities in my country, students are skeptical about the advice of their friends in critical situations and they tend to listen to a more neutral source like a teacher. As the Persian proverb goes, do not always listen to your friends as they are blind to see so many things because of their affection toward you. As far as I am concerned, it is always better to take advice from more neutral sources like teachers and mentors. For example, back in high school, my friends were glib when talking about my best chance for choosing the future university.

To conclude, considering the above reasons, students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends because they see their teacher more reliable, truth worthy and successful.