Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Many people may agree that lecturers are more affected learners than their friends, and there are different reasons why people do so. As far as I’m concerned, I disagree with that statement and I have three commonly reasons and will provide concrete evidence to supporting my viewpoint as follow.

To begin with, the age of lecturers and learners are more different than their friends, so students are accustomed to their friends more than teachers. For instance, the only time that students communicate with the teacher is in the school building, in the classroom. Most of the discussions are about topics related to the study. However, with friends, students often tend to discuss a variety of topics, such as studied, friends, relationships and families. Therefore, students are generally influenced more broadly by their friends, while the only influence made by the teachers are mostly academical.

Second of all, The amount of time spent with the teacher or friends, also affect how much influence has been made to a person. As mentioned previously, the time that students communicate with the teachers is restricted to school hours. However, students spend or communicate with their friends not only in school but even outside the school campus and school hours. Especially with the emerging technology, and the development of mobile phones and the internet, students are now able to communicate with their friends at any time where ever they are. Since the amount of time spent communicating with their friends are much larger than the time spent with the teachers, there is more chance of the students being influenced by their friends rather than their teachers.

All in all, I can conclude that friends are more influent than lecturers because of the closing age as a result like to make the same activities and attitudes. Moreover, abundant time for living together is more effective to make a relationship with friends.