Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

When we talk about figures that have a significant influence on students’ thoughts, there are two that excel, professors and friends. Which one is more influential, though, is a matter of intense debate. As far as I am concerned, I firmly believe that, between those two, friends have more influence on students than teachers. This idea is based on two main reasons that will be analyzed thoroughly below.

Friends have communication codes that allow them to convey ideas that professor do not master. The way in which adolescences communicate each other today is quite different from the traditional one. An illustrative example of that was a situation I experienced with one students in my electronics class. At the end of a class about Kirchhoff’s laws I left them a homework assignment, which would be discussed in the next class. Then, the next day one of my student solve the exercise and the explanation that he gave was completely wrong. Although I repeated several time the correct explanation, he continued supporting the same erroneous idea, alleging that a friend showed him a different demonstration for that phenomenon. He even showed the class YouTube videos and articles in his social networks that taught the same crazy theory. It cost me many hours and a giant effort to convince him that all those explanations were inaccurate, only because he was no willing to believe that his friend’s ideas were incorrect.

Secondly, friend spend the major part of the time together, and have the same interests. When two people spend a lot of time doing what they love, the ties between them strengthen over time. As a result, the students feel more comfortable talking with a friend than with a professor. For instance, my son have a friend which come to play with him all afternoon after the school. Between them, they are quite talkative and extroverted, whereas in the school the professor claims that they have difficulties communicating with them, because they are fairly timid.

In summation, I am of the opinion due to the codes of communication that teenagers use to communicate each others, and the time that they spend doing activities that they like, creating unbreakable bonds in the process.