Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

Owing to the rapid change of the society, nowadays many people may find it harder to be happy than before. However, as far as I can see, we are actually much happier than we were in the past. Here are my points.

For one thing, the diverse ways of recreation have dramatically increased in the past few years, which greatly uplift citizens’ spirit. To name an example, when I was a kid I hardly had anything to play in my leisure time. The only pleasure was fighting with my classmates because I was always the winner. By contrast, nowadays not only can we spend our holidays traveling around the globe, but also we are endowed with plenty of online games such as Cross Fire, the Angry Birds and so on, from which we are sure to acquire more joy than fighting with others. As for me, I can bury myself into playing games on my smartphone after work, and then I could forget all the troubles and problems on the campus. According to China Daily, 80% of the interviewees believe that they are prone to feel pleasant after playing various games. Therefore, it is quite safe to say that the appearance of more kinds of recreation enables people to be more satisfied than before.

For another, people today are less likely to suffer from some physical discomfort such as hungry and diseases, attributed by the development of technologies. There is no denying that people who suffer a lot from terrible illness or starvation will by no means feel satisfied. Just think about the people in the past. Before the industrial revolution, agriculture had not advanced sufficiently to support all the people. In addition, the productivity of the crops were largely dependent on the weather, that is, when terrible disasters arise, no one would escape starvation. On the contrary, thanks to the improvement in crop seeding and planting, now we are rather resistant to natural phenomenon, which means that a basic amount of food can be guaranteed no matter what will happen; consequently, we no longer worry about the troubles about hunger. Isn’t it obvious that modern people are more satisfied owing to the elimination of hunger?

To sum it up, people now are more prone to be happy than they were in the past because of less suffering and more approaches of recreation.