Most advertisements make products seem much better than they really are.

Our life is filled with advertisements. On the subway trains, in the elevators, at our home, we simply cannot think of a scene where there is no advertisement at all. And of course, as everybody would agree, products all seem much better in ads than in reality.

For starters, this has everything to do with the advertisement producers. Driven by the desire for the maximized profit, ads makers tend to overly exaggerate or even put completely fake information into the ad to attract customers’ attention. For example, in a recent TV commercial of Master Kang, a famous instant noodle brand in China, the noodle seems to be mouthwatering with large pieces of beef and a great amount of fresh vegetables in the noodle. The ad is really tempting. However, customers will end up being disappointed about the tiny package of dehydrated vegetables; worse still, the beef is nowhere to be found. Customers of the instant noodle will not find themselves alone. Ads of cosmetics, health care products, cars, mobile phones, and so on never fail to attract customers by those fancy pictures, scenes and instructions; but the reality is always tough.

And let’s not forget about customers ourselves, who often attach our own fantasies to the products once we see the ads. Of course, the expectation will be raised to a level so high that not a single product could ever satisfy our fantasy. This case is especially true when a celebrity is endorsing for the product. Have you ever been there, when you wish that you would be as gorgeous as Angela Baby if you wore the same pair of shoes as she endorses in an ad? It will only be after we have tried on the shoes that we realize that the pair of shoes solely doesn’t get us where we want. Also, think about how we react when we are exposed to a TV commercial of some vitamin pills. Even though the commercial does not claim so, we still hope that these small pills could strengthen our immune system, shape our body figure and nourish our skin.

All in all, advertisements do seem better, not just because of the ads makers, but also because of our own imaginations.