Can advertising tell you a lot about a country?

When it comes to advertisement, most of us will primarily consider it as a vehicle for business and criticize it since it always only aims to sell products. However, the cultural ideas used to sell commodities actually reveal a society's value system, and from the nature of the advertising and the product it aims to sell, we can definitely know a lot about the country.

In order to be most effective, an advertising campaign will try best to cater to the citizens of the country. Obviously, companies will be able to sell more products if a great many people relate to the goods and the images used to sell them. For example, in a country like the United States where a great percentage of people is religious, advertisers use expression such as heavenly, divine, or revelation, because these have connotations that prospective customers will likely identify with. Similarly, advertisers will try to employ fashion models who embody a culture's ideals of personal beauty, because attractive models will sell more products than unattractive ones.

Another way for learning a country via advertising is to compare the advertisements in different ages. For example, when you compare the current advertisements regarding women cloth with the old ones 10 years ago, you might find out that women tends to expose more of their body than before, which suggests the emancipation and liberty of the women's mind.

Although we can learn a lot of things about a country via their advertisements, we still have to remember that the knowledge is limited and we just access what the advertisers hope us to see. After all, advertising is only directed at people who have the means to buy consumer goods. Thus advertising doesn't tell us anything about the overall prosperity or likes and dislikes of a country. What's worse is that some advertisements tend to shape and change cultural values rather than reflect.

In conclusion, we definitely can learn a lot about a country via its advertisements. However, we have to learn how to distinguish the real ones from all the information the advertising contains.