A city wants to help teachers of its high school students (ages14-18) improve their teaching. It is considering two plans:

۱٫ Choose a small group of excellent teachers; these teachers will attend a class led by an expert for additional training in how to teach effectively, and they will then come back to their schools and provide that training for other teachers in school.

۲٫ Provide additional training in teaching effectively for high school teachers, using online material that each teacher will study individually.

In my opinion, online courses in teaching effectively for high school teachers would be a better idea, because using online courses would lead to more efficiency and moreover it would easier for the teachers to do the course whenever they can. I will illustrate my reasons in the following paragraphs.

First, Online courses would have more efficiency because by this method we could train all of our high school teachers through one single course. On the contrary, by implementing the other plan, we should put on a lot of physical classes to train all the teachers. As a result, we can train all teachers with less money and less time through online courses. For example, I remember when I was a student some of our teachers were invited to an additional training course in the middle of the semester. Indeed, they left the school for a period of one week and when they came back they were so busy for teaching other teachers about what they were learned. Therefore, it wasn’t efficient at all. Indeed, they spent too much money and time to train all the teachers at the school, in which if they saved the money, they could improve the school library. Besides, in the meantime, they haven’t enough concentration when they were teaching the students.

Second, by using online courses teachers could learn the content easier because, in online courses, sources are available whenever you want. Thereby, you can do it whenever you have time. Moreover, unlike physical courses, through online courses, you can study at home with a comfortable style without the need to dress formal. For example, last year I attended an online course for welding inspection. After registration, they sent me a lot of reference sources and the videos of class in which the professor lectured the contents. Indeed, it was totally fun for me because without any need to dress formal, I watched the videos when I wanted. Thereby, it helped me finish the course as well as I should. Additionally, there are a lot of important references on the CD they sent to me in which I couldn’t find anywhere else.

Based on the aforementioned reasons, it would be better to train high school teachers through online courses instead of sending a small group of them to train and come back to teach others.