A company is planning to spend money on improving employees’ work, which way do you think is better?

1.spend money on enhancing employees’ efficiency in using technology.

2.spend money on redesigning the workplace to make it comfortable and providing more spacious conference room.

In contemporary society, a lot of companies have tried hard to improve their employees’ work ability. Some people believe that a better work environment can help employee to work better, whereas I argue that the key to enhance employees’ performance should be making improvement in efficiency of using technology.

To begin with, mastering technology can improve employee’s work ability. There are a lot of works which are simple but time-consuming. Employee can improve their work ability by leaving those works to computers; software in computer will calculate those simple problems with astonishing ability in calculation. Assisted by cutting-edge tech, employees can finish a plethora of work in an unprecedented speed. For instance, I am a student major in civil engineering. I have to draw many diagrams in a daily base to keep up with my instructor’s steeps. It usually takes me three hours to complete. But after I studied Auto Cade, a software helping people to create diagrams, I can finish my daily work in one hour.

On the other hand, improving ability in using technology can enhance employees’ motivation. Proficient in using up-to-date software or devices can ease employee’s pressure; that is, they can leave those chores requiring loads of meaning-less repeats to computer, thus, feeling happier and more satisfied about their job. A typical case is my mother. In the past, she had to work for 10 hours daily to complete complex calculations. Additionally, she had to work extra time near Chinese new-year, for finishing yearly assignments. On the contrary, my mother can finish her job in eight hours with the assistant of Excel and enjoy relaxing long break in Chinese new-year. It is proficient in tech that reduces my mother’s pressure as an employee.

Granted, improvement in condition can make employees excited. However, it can also be a severe disruption in their work. A better work environment may include entertainment such as television or game stations for employee to make fun during spare time. Though it may work well as a means for them to release themselves, it also works well as a potential temptation. It might as well to extent their relaxing time as set up those surrounding improvement or conference room.

In light of all above statements, I argue that improve employees’ proficiency in using tech can be key to improve their performance, because of it has several advantages outcompeting improvement in environment, such as enhancement in efficiency; easing pressure in work.