Compare and contrast the advantages of city living and country living Defend your preference

Nowadays, people are divided into two different groups. There are the ones who enjoy living in huge busy cities and the ones who enjoy living in rural areas. Personally, I would rather live in the countryside than in a city. I feel this way for several reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, residing in the country means that your life will be quiet and peaceful. Unlike cities, which are usually crowded with an overwhelming number of people, the countryside guarantees you a life with no disturbances or distractions. In other words, there will be no external factors that might result in disrupting your routine. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I graduated from university, I decided to leave the city and move to a detached rural area. Even though there were times when I felt bored and lonely since I had no neighbours, I noticed that the quality of my life dramatically improved. To be more specific, I stopped experiencing acute headaches which resulted from the loudness and the noisiness of the city life. Furthermore, I finally got the opportunity to truly relax without stressing about anything and having neighbours bother me. Needless to say that after living there for a couple of months I did not want to return to the fast paced rhythm of life which characterizes modern cities.

Secondly, the countryside enables a person to be close to nature and engage in various outdoor activities. In other words, not only is life in the countryside more comfortable since there is more space even in the houses compared to the tiny apartments in which people live in urban areas but it also results in an overall improval of a human’s mental and physical health since there is no pollution of any kind. For example, when I moved to the country, I noticed that my health stopped deteriorating. I finally stopped seeing grey buildings around me and inhaling the harmful gases emitted by cars. I got the chance to go to the forest which was a magic experience for me as there were no parks in the city or green areas with trees in which I lived. Consequently, I was able to be in great shape both mentally and physically.

In conclusion, undoubtedly, living in the country and living in an urbanized area both have significant advantages and disadvantages. Overall, I am of the opinion that it is considerably better to reside in the countryside as it offers better living conditions, which are characterized by quietness, an improvement in health and being able to directly interact with nature.