Competition between friends always has a negative effect on their friendship

Friends play a crucial role in our life, therefore maintaining a healthy relationship with our friends positively affects our life and personality. Some people believe that competition between friends will not affect friendship. However, others consider fierce competition between friends might be detrimental. From my perspective, I am definitely in favor of the latter statement.

To begin with, competition usually makes individuals hate each other. When people, for example, want the same position in the workplace or when they compete to get a higher job's rank, in all previous cases, people might start to loathe each other and try their best to succeed and make other fails. Now try to imagine these cases between friends; obviously, this will destroy their friendship regardless of how strong their relationship is. My experience is an appealing example of this. After graduating from the University, my friend and I competed for the same job, and after I won and got this job, we have never met again or talked with each other. It sad and heart-aching situation, but I understand that people might change after a competition, especially if this competition was for something essential and crucial in our life.

Secondly, competition might change people's behavior negatively—for instance, competition might make people deceive each other, and people might conceal the truth from each other. For example, if a person is competing with his best friend for the sake of an excellent, high-paying occupation and they are the only two candidates. This situation will ruin the friendship, especially if one of them deceives the other or, for example, might hide some of the information about the interview. The worst case is telling wrong information to their friend. So, one clearly can conclude that competition between friends will collapse the friendship and destroy their relationship.

Moreover, some people believe that competition between close friends will make their friendship more robust and enhance their relationship, which I'm afraid I disagree with. I have seen many companies collapse in my whole life due to competition and jealousy.

In sum, although many people may hold the opinion that competition will improve and stabilize the friendship. I believe that competition will exert negative impacts on friendships.