Do you Agree with the following statement?

In order to become financially responsible adult, children should learn to use their own money at a young age. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There are persons, who may have different opinion whether to put financial responsibility on adults at a young age because it is the time when young adults learn other skills necessary for their development. However, I strongly believe that children should be allowed to manage their own money at a young age. I feel this way for three reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

Firstly, it makes them more responsible. If the parents put the responsibility of managing the finances to their kids that make them realize how to spend money wisely. For example, when I was a kid, my father would give me 10$ for my pocket money for full one week. I use to spend that amount wisely because I finish that amount before the deadline date I would not get any money further. That is how I developed the sense of responsibility, whereas my cousin who never had the responsibility for managing his finances, still struggles to handle the things.

Secondly, it makes them realize how difficult is to earn money. Take again, myself as an example, as my father gave me the responsibility to manage money, I realized how difficult is to earn even a single penny. I remember, when I was in my graduation at Manipal University, I exhausted all my savings during one semester. Then, I decided to earn money by working at a pizza shop. I would work from morning till evening to earn only few dollars. Since then I started saving and stopped spending on unnecessary things. That is the reason, why I am a successful person now. On the other hand my cousin, Ravi, he would spend on non-essential things never realized the importance of saving because his father never taught him how to save money. As a result, he still borrows money from family and friends.

Finally, it prepares them for future to handle their own financial planning. If parents sow the seeds of financial planning at an early age, children learn a lot about it, faster than other adults of the same age. For example, I read about Rakesh Junjunwala, considered the Warren Buffet of India. When he was a kid his father who was an Indian Administrative officer taught him the basic of financial planning. He started to read business magazines, whereas his contemporary adults would read the novels, story books. Here it made the difference he developed the sense of financial planning, and now he is a billionaire. If his father had not taught him the basics at the young age, he would not have become so wealthy and successful.

In a nutshell, even though some may argue, that young adult should not be given the responsibility of managing funds because they are not mature enough to handle it. However, I have an opposite opinion. I believe they should be allowed to manage their own fund because that makes them more responsible and prepares them to handle their own finances in future.