Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide.

Travelling is one thing that everyone would do, at least once in a lifetime. There are people who like to travel in a group led by a tour guide, whereas other people prefer to travel without a tour guide. I prefer to travel without the tour guide. Therefore, I disagree with the statement that the best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide. There are numerous reasons why I hold confidence on this opinion, and I would like to explore only a few primary ones in the following essay.

First of all, I am a kind of person, who likes some adventure and surprise. I personally do like to plan for many things in my life, but in the case of traveling, I do not prefer to plan. In my opinion, if someone wants to enjoy life and experience the adventure, he should travel without planning and a tour guide. The reason behind is, it eliminates the adventure part of traveling. For example, last year I visited Dubai, UAE with my wife. It was an unplanned trip, we started late in night from Dammam, Kingdom of Saudi Arabi. We had no idea about the route, but we wanted to have the adventure, so we just started. Even we got lost in the way near Al Hass, but we somehow got the right way after so much of drama in the midnight and reached Dubai in the afternoon the following day. That was the most memorable part of that trip, if I had hired a tour guide, we could not have had that thrilling experience of getting lost in the desert in the midnight.

Secondly, I want to explore new thing and places by my own. If a tour guide is with you, he will only plan everything and your job is just to follow him, as we do at our workplace, where we follow the guidelines of our boss. I personally do not like to do this on tour. I like freedom. For instance, on the same trip, mentioned in the last paragraph, after reaching Dubai, my wife and I checked into a hotel and rested whole day. In the night we went to Dubai Mall, the largest in UAE, then to a concert followed by the desert safari. If we were with the tour guide, I believe we could not have done all the thing, what we have done there without him. We would have simply visited the places recommended by him.

Finally, If we travel in a group there are chances that the tour guide or his company may cheat you. They may not provide the services, which were promised to you at the time of booking. Now a day such events are quite common. That make the trip a nightmare rather than a lifetime experience. For instance, one of my close friends had such an experience, when he went to Shimla, India for his honeymoon trip. Ther tour agency promised him to provide the five-star accommodation with all the sightseeing around that place. But when he reached there they did not provide the services, what they had promised. He was extremely upset and even had the fight with them. That is the reason one should avoid hiring the tour guide.

In a nutshell, I believe traveling in a group with a tour guide is a bad option because it prevents you to experience the adventure and exploring new places as well as there are chances that they may cheat you.