Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide.

Although the job of a tour guide is very important and educating, I disagree with that statement that the most exciting travels are those accompanied by a tour guide. In my eyes, traveling without a tour guide is not only interesting, but also more flexible in spatial and temporal ways.

Have you ever caught yourself sleeping during a boring tour through museums? Every tourguide has his own program for each tour, but that can probably not intersect with your interests. When in a travel you choose where to go and what to see, you can not be bored, and even if the chosen destination will be boring, it can always be changed. In my experience I mostly enjoyed the tours made by myself better. The times I was traveling with a tour guide were, of course, educating, but there wasn’t any adventure and they were limited with the information I could get. So I almost fell asleep during the excursion about e.g. architecture techniques, when I was interested mostly in the history of the buildings.

Another advantage of traveling without a tour guide is the flexibility it gives. The programs made for each tour mostly start and end in exact time and when someone wants to observe something longer the whole group should wait and because of the lack of time the other sights will be observed more rapidly. I remember when I was traveling to Brussels, we had a city tour at 8 AM, and I was late because of jet lag, and my group waited for me all the time when I tried to look at things more precisely then the tour excepted. So I thought that the next day I will not attend the group-tour with a guide and will travel by myself at what time I want and maybe will find places that are not on guide-lists.

To conclude, traveling with the tour guide can not be the best travel experience for me, because of the probability that it will not meet my interests and because it is not flexible in space and time.