Some people trust their first impressions about a person’s character because they believe these judgments are generally correct. Other people do not judge a person’s character quickly because they believe first impressions are often wrong. Compare these two attitudes. Which attitude do you agree with? Support your choice with specific examples.

The famous idiom says "Do not judge a book by its cover". However, many people when they meet a new person often rely on their intuition and the impression created during the first meeting. Although in my eyes, the first impression seems to be rather inaccurate, it often has many common things with the information you will later get.

First, both attitudes are based on the intuition and the mood one has while communicating with the other. Imagine a person you were just introduced. At first, he seems to be non-pleasant and, consequently, the later communication with him will not be enjoyable. There can be a possible logical explanation for that: the visual illustration of an object is more powerful in the subconscious way than other opinions created logically. That is why most people will rely on their first "visual" impression and continue the communication in the same mood. I remember my freshman year when I first met one of my professors. She seemed to me to be a weird person, because of her evil looking smile. Later when I was already familiar with her behavior as a lecturer, I continued to notice only the weird and bad things she had. So I understood the power of the prior impression and how it affects the posterior one.

However, these two attitudes do not always complete each other. Moreover, sometimes they even exclude each other. Another idiom says that a friend is recognized in times of trouble. The first impression can be often defined and validated through time but there can be a stressful situation when the hidden characteristics of the person will appear. Such situations will lead to the alteration of impression about a person. In my experience, I faced that problem sometimes. I trusted one of my colleagues because I thought that we both are displeased from the management. It turned out that he was telling all the secrets I said to him and as a result, the impression about that person was changed from trustful to untrustworthy. That showed that everyone should be prudent with the very first impression.

In conclusion, these two attitudes often work together, but excluding each other is a common practice too. I personally choose to agree with the second attitude. However, it is a difficult psychological question which one is the correct one and the reasons for their appearance can not be exactly known and examined.