Some people trust their first impressions about a person’s character because they believe these judgments are generally correct. Other people do not judge a person’s character quickly because they believe first impressions are often wrong.

It is argued that the first impressions are reliable because people show their reality in the first visit. On the other hand, some people argue that first impressions are not credible. As far as I am concerned, the first impressions are not important to me when I want to choose a person as a roommate, partner, or co-worker.

To begin with, all people have limitation and they cannot recognize each other for the first time. There are many types of people in this world. Some people are very straight with others and some are not. I don't think that we can judge any person's character in the first meeting. When we meet someone first time, it is for sure that he or she will try to behave properly and finely. Not only he or she but we also try to behave properly with them when we meet them for the first time. To understand that a person is reliable needs more assessments. After 25 years of living with my friends, I do not know many of their characteristics.

Moreover, somebody's mood can lead to a behavior that does not represent him. There are people who suffer from depression, loneliness or people who had unusual experiences beforehand. Some are emotional and they cannot dissimulate their emotions, and therefore this can conduct to misjudgments. For example, sometimes we encounter some difficulties in our life that we need to be supported by our friends. There were many times that a friend I taught he was not supportive, has helped me in difficulties.

On the other hand, some people hold this view that the first impressions are reliable. They argue that before people first meet, they have no idea about the behavior and characteristics of other people, so in the first meet, they have no inclination to impress each other.

In conclusion, I believe that judging someone from his/first impression is not reliable. Knowing the real characteristics of someone needs spending time and evaluating his/her in both happy and tough times. The outward appearance cannot reveal the reality of someone. Though the behavior of people in the first meet may not be intentional, I prefer not to judge people in our first meeting.