Is the ability to read and write more important today than in the past? Why or why not?

Knowledge has been always the main source of power. The ability to read and write helps people to earn different knowledge or passed it to the other people. In the past, the number of people who can read or write was much less than these days. Nowadays people have to have the ability of reaidng and writing to do many things. Some people believe that these days the ability of reading and writing is more important than the past. I totally agree with this statment, however, I cannot deny the importance of these abilities in the past.

Nowadays knowledge play an important role in our daily life. Actually, knowledge is the main source of power. Having more knowledge make someone stronger. Advancement of technolgy has increased the importance of knowledge. The ability of reading and writing is necessary for doing most things these days. As we, all know most jobs need persons who are expert in a specific field. To become an expert and earning the knowledge, we need the ability to write different materials. Through reading different books and journals, we can earn a wide variety of knowledge, which improve our skills to do different jobs. For example, in my country, students who can the ability to read text written in English can earn a vast knowledge in their fields. There are various materials they can earn the last information on their majors, which help them to deepen their knowledge. Having more knowledge increases their chance to find a decent and well-paid job.

On the other hand, many of works controlled systematically through different computers. Computer and internet has brought many changes to people's lives. People can easily communicate with each other through internet connection. They can check their account transaction or purchase what they want through internet. To use computers people need the ability of reading and writing.

In conclusion, I believe that nowadays the ability of writing and reading is more important than the past because doing many things depends on our reading and writing abilities. In comparison to the past, nowadays people need more knowledge to get a job or doing their daily works. Writing and reading ability enable people to earn vast information from different materials.