Some university professors let their students choose their research topic themselves. Some do not. Which one do you think is better. Why?

The combination of interest and effort leads to the luminous results. Universities always have been places for intellectual nourishment, and they have been established to promote science and individuals’ innovative faculty. According to some psychologists, individuals make their best efforts in the fields they have a predisposition to. But the other point here is whether students’ predilection for the research field is profitable for science world or not. An ineluctable query which always has been the topic of contention and brought about heated debates is whether professors should let their students choose their research topic themselves or not. From my vantage point, students should work on their research interest. In what follows, I will elaborate on my perspective.

First of all, it is significant to be mentioned that universities are the last step of students to initiate their occupational life, and it is a very cardinal period of time to procure and establish their self-esteem and autonomy. It is very momentous value for universities to nurture students who are innovative and mentally open. If professors let the students choose their research field according to their interest, it would benefit students and society in manifold ways. For instance, the student will attend his research very diligently and he would experience mental flow which is a satisfaction in doing an interesting activity during which you do are not cognizant of time passage. The result of such hard and ginger work would be very successful and will lead to great scientific results. This student will have a very proper self-esteem because he could flower his potential abilities and he will be a profitable person to his society too.

Another reason which deserves some attention is that professors would benefit in this way too. For instance, if professors accede to their student's research field, they will be familiar with new fields they have not tried. So in this way, they could extend more their sweeping knowledge and maybe find something new in the terra incognita. Furthermore, the success of their students would benefit them in another way too. If their students are successful, their academic rate will rise and they will win their students’ acclaim which is the most precious thing for a teacher. This success and approbation will give the teachers the sense of equanimity which is the best experience in life. From my viewpoint, it is the best achievement for teacher and it would be a repose from arduous work they have done to that point.

Reflecting upon all the aforementioned reasons, one soon realizes that it is the best way to let students choose their research field. Students who can accommodate their interest and their efforts will get the best results in their life. They will develop a very integrated personality, especially in occupational settings and this progress will disseminate to other aspects of their life. Their acquired self-esteem and self-government will scatter to their social relations too. So with some meditation, it is obvious that success in the university and life is very dependent on the harmony which students can experience in the university. It can be a very great field of research for scientists to promote students’ future welfare. They can assay students’ sense of freedom in choosing research field and the effects on future development and success in every aspect of students’ life.