Watching Television is bad for children" agree or disagree?

Watching television has some advantages and disadvantages for children. Children spend a huge amount of time watching television these days. I cannot deny the harmful effect of television on health and social activities of children; however, I believe the advantages of television outweigh its disadvantages.

The television plays a dominant role in entertaining children. Television is a rich media, which attracts people of different ages, particularly children. Children spend a huge amount of time watching their desirable TV program. We can many children who are addicted to television. I believe that watching TV would be beneficial for children as long as the parent control the program watched by children. Children can learn many things from educative programs. Many scientific documentaries and educative programs give children the opportunity to earn a wide variety of information in various field. This extends children's overlook and deepens their knowledge. For example, children can learn a second language by watching educative channels. Watching appropriate movies and programs enables children to learn about social behavior. Children are fast learners and they like to imitate what they learn from others behavior. In this way, children can learn much good behavior such as respecting other people.

On the other hand, spending a huge amount of time watching television would be harmful to children's health. Watching television decreases children's physical activities and may weaken their vision. Moreover, watching TV may deprive children of spending time with other children and thus decreases their social activities. Children who do not have close friends in their childhood would have some troubles in school. Due to their weak communication skills, they have a hard time to make new friends and communicate with their teacher. Additionally, some TV programs do not have appropriate content that may make a bad impression on children. For example, movies with violent content and disasters news may affect children.

In conclusion, I think watching TV can benefit children if they make good use of it. Watching television benefits children by broadening their horizon and deepening their knowledge. If parents direct children to spend less time watching TV and watching appropriate programs, television can teach many things to children.