Do you agree or disagree with the following statement People can learn more from watching television than from reading books Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Widespread advances in technology have improved the overall quality of life across the world. Unlike people in the past can exclusively gain knowledge through reading. Modern inventions provide us with more convenient tools and various channels to acquire information. Television is such example. One click away, people can watch news from all over the world and gain information from different areas. Thus, whether watching TV is more beneficial for people than reading books is hotly debated in our society. Were I forced to choose, I believe that reading books is still the best way to learn more about the world. I will elaborate on it in the following passages.

First and foremost, the information we gain from watching TV is superficial. The intention of inventing TV is for people's pleasure. From a whole perspective, it plays the role of entertainment most of the time. People tend to use it to watch soap dramas and movies. Though broadcasting news is one of its important parts, most news on television is short and shallow. You can learn the date or main characters of the hottest event, but if you want to dive deep to learn more about the whole story or background information, you still need to find some particular books and read them.

The second reason that needs to be considered is that watching television isn't an effective way to learn. People cannot focus on it if other materials on television distract them. My sister's experience can be a compelling example of this argument. She used to watch TV to learn important news. At first it seems effortless and more convenient, because the news will report the outline of the events, so she can understand it easily. However, after a while, she found that each piece of news didn't contain much useful information. Other channels on TV, like movie channels or talk shows distracted her studies too. She then abandoned this method and backed to books for study.

Admittedly, watching television is important to some extent. It can help people learn the latest news instantly. That's the advantage books can never compete with . The process of publishing a book is time-consuming. Nevertheless, from the whole perspective, reading is better than watching movies in terms of quality and depth.

In conclusion, based on what has been discussed above, we can safely say that even watching television has some advantages, reading books is still the most important way to learn information.