Some high school teachers spend most of class time lecturing while the students listen and take notes Other high school teachers spend most of class time on discussion and projects that students are highly involved in and exchange their ideas Which of the

In this high competitive world, education is a pressing question for every family. At school, different teaching strategies will brings different performance, thus has great impact on students' grades. It has never failed to arouse public concerns and at the same time provoke a hot debate about what is the best way of teaching. Were I forced to choose, I, without hesitation, advocate that teachers should ask students to attend discussion and exchange ideas. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will elaborate on in the following passages.

First of all, involving in discussion and exchanging ideas enable students to have deeper understanding of the materials. To be clear, in discussion, children tend to listen to different opinions and perfect their own point of views. For 14-18 years old students, they have the right to have personal idea. Unlike mindlessly focus on teachers' lectures and taking notes they may seldom review, every students now have to dive into the study to prepare for expressing their thoughts. It will encourage them to be more effective in learning.

Second, no one can deny the fact that children are more motivated in discussion. Instead of passively following teachers' lecturing, they now can participate in every process of discussion. In the long term, without the help of teachers, children are inclined to develop independent learning skill, which will be beneficial not only for their current study, but also for their future career development. Take myself for example, I used to have bad grades in my English. However, when my English teacher allowed us to form study group and express our opinions in English. I felt that I have more control of my studying, thus are more willing to take part in. In the end, I have excellent grade in that semester. Had it not been for my teacher's innovative teaching, I would never make progress in English.

Admittedly, it's hard to deny that taking notes will help kids remember lectures thus improve their performance. Nevertheless, there are several factual and logical fallacies in this argument, and it should be examined meticulously. It will only be helpful in shot term by passively taking teachers' opinions. Only when they are allowed to form their own opinions, they can learn more effectively in long term.

Considering all the arguments given above, we can safely say that organizing discussion is more helpful for students' learning.