Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People can learn more from watching television than from reading books. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

For the last fifty years, television has been widely spread from home to home and has become the most influential electronic device as it entertain us and also allows us to obtain information and news easily. However, when compared to books another influential source of information, whether television or books is better for learning has aroused heated arguments. While some people claim that books are better source for learning since they provide a variety and depth of information, others deem otherwise. In my opinion, television is a better source for learning since it contains visual components that help your learning. Also, watching television could broaden your mind as you accept people's perspectives.

To begin with, television contains various visual contents. Reading books full of texts could rather make you easily bored. However, television can make the learning process much appealing by using the visual illustration. For example, when learning the anatomy of the frog, memorizing the scientific name and functions of organs using a textbook will be a laborious process. However, the learning process will be much more interesting if you watch a documentary containing fascinating video clips about frogs. Also, learning from visual contents is helpful for your understanding of knowledge compared to texts. For example, I once attempted to make a chocolate cake using a recipe from a book, but I failed. However, by watching a cooking program on television, I was able to find mistakes understand the process better which resulted in success.

Furthermore, watching television could broaden your perspective as you can listen to other people's opinions and perspectives. A book's content is limited to only the author's ideas and perspective. It may contain biased information and will eventually keep our mind prejudiced. But television conveys many people's opinions by including interviews from various people such as experts and civilians. For example, I once read a book about why global warming is just a hoax. The book contained several reasons and data explaining why global warming is a natural process and there is no need for us to worry about. However, since watching several shows and interviews on television how global warming could be destructive for humans and the environment, I realized that books could convey only limited information and perspectives.

To sum up, television has its own advantages in learning. Visual illustrations help you absorb and understand knowledge compared to reading texts. Also, television can broaden your mind since you listen to other people's opinions. Therefore, television is a better source for learning than books