TPO-02 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Human beings are social animals. In the society, humans create relationships with each other and benefit from those relationships. However, in terms of creating relationships, every person has their own criteria in selecting people. For example, some people are willing to make relationships with attractive people, and others will prefer smart people. Especially, some people puts honesty as the most important consideration when building relationships with other people because they could benefit and create stronger relationship with people who always tell the truth. However, I disagree with the statement that telling the truth is the most important factor in creating and maintaining relationships. This is because first, sometimes telling the truth may cause conflict. Also, in order to carry on a long and pleasant conversation, a little bit of exaggeration and hypocrisy is needed.

To begin with, sometimes telling the truth will negatively impact one's relationship. The truth may be confronting that you don't want other people to know about and might affect your relationship with others For example, I am currently in a good and healthy physical shape. However, in the past, I was quite chubby and was bullied because of my appearance. If I told the truth and everybody knew about my past, some people will find it uncomfortable and effect my relationships. Also, you may want to create and maintain good relationships with others by lying intentionally. As an example, a few days ago, me and my friends received our half yearly reports. But, my friend did not achieve an competent score while I almost topped every single subject. My friend was almost crying of despair and ask me how i did on the exams. If I said I got good scores in the exams, he would think I was boasting and making fun of his bad grades. Therefore, in order to relief his grief and to tell he was not the only one that did bad, I lied and said I got bad marks. As a result, he felt better and we were able to maintain good relationships ever since. Sometimes not telling the truth is important in relationship between people.

In addition, telling lies may be essential in order to bridge the gap between each other. This is because while in order to get closer in relationships, it is important to sympathize with each others. However people have different ideas and thoughts we sometimes have to lie and pretend to sympathize with other people. For example, during a blind date, me and my partner went to see a romance movie. Although I did not enjoy the movie, I told her that it so sweet and fantastic to get closer to her. Furthermore, telling lies or exaggerated expressions will help you have a smooth conversations with others. As an example, I often exaggerate or fake my emotions while talking to my friend. If I be too honest, the the flow of the conversation may be disrupted. Therefore, sometimes faking yourself is important.

To sum up, I believe that lies often help you make and keep relationships with other because telling the truth might be offensive to each other. What's more, exaggerating or faking your thoughts helps you have stronger relationships with other people as you can pretend to agree with others and have a smooth conversation. Although untruth is not what you should pursuit, being too honest makes relationships difficult.