Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Student attend university to deepen their knowledge in their favorable majors. However, they seek to improve their social skills. History courses can increase student's information about the history of their countries. It is a controversial idea that all university students should be required to take history courses regarding to their field of study. As far as I am concerned, I totally disagree with this idea.

To begin with, the main purpose of student from attendance to university is to improve their knowledge and information in their favorable majors. Taking courses relevant to their field of study enables them to become expert and accordingly take a decent job after graduation. For students who study in engineering or medicine majors, taking history courses cannot help them in their field. The student should take a wide variety of courses and do huge numbers of assignment, which put them under a huge pressure. Their time is so limited and taking irrelevant courses would be waste of time. For example, there were many irrelevant courses in curriculum of my university that only took my time.

Moreover, all students, at least in my country, take history courses during school. I cannot deny the importance of history in improving the social skills of student as they can learn many things about their country and their cultures. However, in my point of view, studying history in both school and university is not necessary. Students learn basic knowledge in school and after choosing their majors they took relevant courses in the university. The students who are interested in history would take that as their major in university. Taking history courses for students who are not interested in that would be hard and may decreases their average score. Moreover, students who want to know basic information about history of their country can earn those information from different books and journals.

In conclusion, I believe that taking history courses would be waste of time and energy for students who want to become expert in other majors. Moreover, it would be frustrating for student who are not interested in history and put them under pressure.