Do you agree or disagree: to be successful in business, companies must put more money in advertising.

The statement raises an issue which concerns the role of advertising in the success of a business. Two contrary viewpoints can be identified: One holding that companies should invest more in advertising; the other arguing that adverting should not take priority over other aspects in running a business. Personally, I agree with the latter opinion. The reasons are as follows.

Firstly, the priority of a successful business should concern the quality of the product which is the top concern of customers. A successful business need to meet the requirement of customers. A customer-friendly product can attract more people through previous costumers. Fancy advertising may deceive customers once, but there will not be others any more. For example, Xiaomi is a company producing cheap mobile phones targeting low-end consumer. Their advertising is astonishing. It shows that the cell phone they produce consists of the most advanced technology that can be used on the phone. The price is more astonishing. The phone only costs half money of other phones as advanced as Xiaomi. However, customers found that Xiaomi can only survive for one year, while other phones with the same technology can last at least two years. So, after a boom when Xiaomi was first released, the company now is suffering from low sale rate.

Secondly, a business producing products with good quality build stable relationship with the costumers. If the company put excessive efforts on advertising, it won’t take the quality serious. The trust between company and customers will be compromised if products don’t match what the company advertises. For instance, my mother was a loyal consumer of the makeup from a local brand, Dabao. She said that the makeup was affordable and worked very well. However, when Dabao started to advertise on TV, the quality of the makeup declined. My mother still bought products when the quality went down because the trust Dabao built before. Three months later, she ended up changing to another brand as the trust between she and Dabao was gone.

We have to admit that advertising plays an important role in a successful business. It will help businesses expand customer base quickly and forge a successful brand of a product. Take Coca-Cola, the most successful soft-drink producer in the world, for example. It spends hundreds of millions of dollars on advertising every year. As a consequence, consumers have equated cola with Coca-Cola in their mind, and will choose Coca-Cola as the first brand when they decide to buy sodas. Although Coca-Cola invest a huge mount of money on advertising, their product is as good as it always is. Moreover, the company encourage innovation. It has come up with a lot of other products with the same quality of Coca-Cola.

To sum up, advertising is indispensable, but is not the only important factor. Companies should try to strike a balance between advertising and product quality if it is going to be successful in the industry.