Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

There have endless discussions over importance between old and new friends. Some people argue that keeping old friends is more important rather than making the new ones. Personally, I disapprove of this argument, since two subjects are of equal importance.

At the first analysis, mutual understanding and personal enjoyment are what cannot be left out when mentioning old friends. It cannot be denied that friends whom we know for a long time are persons know us the best and vice versa. They not only remember our hobbies or characteristic but also understand our strengths and weaknesses. More interestingly, keeping in touch with old friends brings us happiness. Due to long-time relationship, we are likely to easily share our motion and problems with old friends which cannot happen in new relationship. Moreover, our friends are able to offer us very valuable advices to handle these problems. That helps us to release stress and eliminate anxiety. Indeed, since old friends are true friends who not only understand us but also are a source of great enjoyment, it makes sense to keep in touch with them.

At the second analysis, involving in new relationship offers chances for us to enhance knowledge and develop communication skill. It is apparent that a new friend whose beliefs may differ from us brings us to new world of knowledge. There are new topics to talk about, new activities to do together, and new personality traits to discover… No sooner do we make new friends than we acquire extensive knowledge. More importantly, meeting new people encourages us to communicate more frequently. Through exchanging, sharing idea with new friends, we have golden chances to practice communication skill. The more people we meet, the better our communication skill is. By and large, making new friends is worthy by dint of its positive influence on improving grasp and lift interpersonal skill.

At the last analysis, each of these shows its merits. Only if a person keeps in touch with old friends and is able to make new friends, it can be competent. Old relationships and new relationships make up for the lack of each other. Combining two factors is perfect choice, which not only offers us happiness, mutual understanding but also fulfill knowledge. Obviously, role of old or new relationship is equally essential factors contributing to a person s’ success. Beyond any doubts, there is no reason to suppose that one of them should be highly appreciated than other.

In conclusion, for all the mentioned above, cherishing old relationship and making the new one ranks at equal places. It is highly recommended that people should take my essay into detailed consideration to have appropriated decision on old friends and new friends.